Archaic values.

I have found that I relate to Gary Snyder’s way.  So completely that I cannot put what I really mean into words.  His sense of balance and freedom, his sense for sophistication necessarily being deeply rooted in nature. He softly reminds me of the importance of genuine connection in this world and to stay true to the integrity of that connection.

I find his way so free of control values that I think his words mean something different to everyone depending on where their home is.  Just reading this small excerpt from The Practice of the Wild revives in me the importance of what I sense to be devalued in modern society,  “Learning the birds and the flowers is not just high school science or nature study – it’s local etiquette.  It’s rude not to know your neighbors, you know?”

My appreciation of Snyder’s work is currently elevated to reverence. I see myself in his words.

“Some folks hold that everything is a social construction, and I add that society is a natural construction, including the industrial and the toxic.” Gary Snyder from The Art of Poetry Number 47The Paris Review

“As a poet I hold the most archaic values on earth . . . the fertility of the soil, the magic of animals, the power-vision in solitude, the terrifying initiation and rebirth, the love and ecstasy of the dance, the common work of the tribe. I try to hold both history and the wilderness in mind, that my poems may approach the true measure of things and stand against the unbalance and ignorance of our times.” ~Gary Snyder

~ by tarawalch on January 10, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
